Houston Runoff 2023: Where to Vote in Sharpstown on 12/9

Houston Runoff 2023: Where to Vote in Sharpstown on 12/9
Voting centers in the Sharpstown area, marked by blue pins. The star marks Houston Christian University, which is not a voting center. Image credit: harrisvotes.com

The District J race is already decided, but you still get to help pick Houston's mayor, city controller, and four at-large city council members. Those races headed to a runoff since no candidate received over 50% of the vote.

Early voting for the runoff ended Tuesday. Sharpstown's Bayland Community Center was the sixth most visited early voting center in Houston, with 5,897 voters, according to HCED's unofficial totals. Only 131,887 people voted early across the entire city.

All that's left is Election Day: Saturday, December 9, from 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM.

Where can you vote? So far, voting center locations appear to be slightly different than in the original election. You'll find a helpful interactive map at https://www.harrisvotes.com/Vote-Centers (HCED's website).

When you first open the map, it will only display voting centers downtown. Don't worry—there are plenty of locations to vote in the Sharpstown area too! Here are several:

Voting centers in the Sharpstown area. Image credit: harrisvotes.com.

To get the map to display voting centers near you, just type your address into the box on the top left side of the webpage, like this:

Image credit: harrisvotes.com

If you're using a cell phone or a Mac, the webpage may be organized differently, but you get the idea.

The list of voting locations currently includes Bayland Community Center, Chinese Community Center, Sharpstown Park Community Center, several schools, and more.

To vote on December 9, you must bring an approved photo ID such as a Texas driver's license or U.S. passport.

Two candidates are facing off for each race:


  • John Whitmire
  • Sheila Jackson Lee

City Controller

  • Chris Hollins
  • Orlando Sanchez

City Council, At-Large 1

  • Julian Ramirez
  • Melanie Miles

City Council, At-Large 2

  • Willie Davis
  • Nick Hellyar

City Council, At-Large 3

  • Richard Cantu
  • Twila Carter

City Council, At-Large 4

  • Roy Morales
  • Letitia Plummer